TABLE 2.2

Federal governments and prime ministers since 1900

Conservative

Liberal

YEARS IN POWER	PARTY	PRIME MINISTER
1900-11	Liberal	Wilfrid Laurier
1911-17	Conservative	Robert Borden
1917-20	Unionist*	Robert Borden
1920-1	Conservative	Arthur Meighen
1921-6	Liberal	William Lyon Mackenzie King
1926	Conservative	Arthur Meighen
1926-30	Liberal	William Lyon Mackenzie King
1930-5	Conservative	R.B. Bennett
1935-48	Liberal	William Lyon Mackenzie King
1948-57	Liberal	Louis St. Laurent
1957-63	Progressive Conservative	John Diefenbaker
1963-8	Liberal	Lester B. Pearson
1968-79	Liberal	Pierre Elliott Trudeau
1979-80	Progressive Conservative	Joe Clark
1980-4	Liberal	Pierre Elliott Trudeau
1984	Liberal	John Turner
1984-93	Progressive Conservative	Brian Mulroney
1993	Progressive Conservative	Kim Campbell
1993-2003	Liberal	Jean Chrétien
2003-6	Liberal	Paul Martin

Stephen Harper

Justin Trudeau

2006-15

^{2015*} Conservative-Liberal wartime coalition